BMLID Annual Meeting Minutes – June 10, 2023

The meeting was called to order by President Ron Zitzow at 9:00 AM

The Pledge of Allegiance was spoken by all 45 in attendance.

Board members present: Keith Brokke, Ron Zitzow, Cyndy Wedryk, Roger Fenstad, Justin Carney and Dale Janssen

The **Treasure's report was presented by Cyndy Wedryk**. Question to all present, what to do with a certain amount of cash. Savings account pays very little interest, a CD would be much better. Discussion in detail was held during the budget review.

Motion to accept Treasurer's report by Candace Dahl, seconded. Motion passed.

2022 Annual meeting minutes were read by Dale Janssen. Motion to accept by Rob Campbell and seconded. Motion passed.

General Discussion:

We may see an increase in dead fish this spring/summer because of the early warm water temperature.

Ice-out this year happened on May 5th The earliest ice-out was March 24, 2012 The latest ice-out was May 11, 2013.

Secchi Readings:

Reading on May 14th was 9 feet and the reading on May 21st was at 24 feet

Fish barriers:

The North inlet barrier was placed in November 2022 (paid for by Big McDonald LID).. The South outlet barrier was placed in September 2022 (paid by Otter Tail County)..

Forest Tent Caterpillars spraying was done May 24th, 2023. Most prevalent on the east side of lake. Although found all around the lake. Basswood trees seem to attract the FTCs more than other trees.

Fish Stocking:

DNR stocking done on even years. Did not receive a bill. BMLID stocking done on odd years.

BMLID directory: A never ending task. Please send update to Keith. All attending were asked to sign up.

Motion to accept Budget 06/01/23 – 05/31/2024 by Roger Finstad, seconded. Motion Passed. (Copy attached.)

New board members needed: (See beach map attached.)

Waylon Bertsch from Kozelnik Beach was added to the LID Board Dave Olig from Engstrom Beach will replace Roger Fenstad (who stepped down). Jeff Dostal from East McDonald Shores will replace Chris Kennelly.

A motion was made by Roger Fenstad to elect the three new members and retain the other LID Board members. Motion seconded and passed.

The new Big McDonald LID Board now consists of:

Ron Zitzow - President Dale Janssen – Secretary Cyndy Wedryk – Treasurer Chad Gabrielson Dave Olig Justin Carney Waylon Bertsch Jeff Dostal Keith Brokke

It was suggested we have a noon 4th of July boat parade. Glen Swanton and Barry Dresser will organize.

Next annual meeting is scheduled June 9th, 2024, at 9am. Same location.

Motion to adjourn by Rob Campbell.

Respectfully submitted by Dale Janssen